Welcome to the KeepItPrinting.com forums! The doctor is IN.

          
                                                            

Your business can be seen here! Prime spots available!
             

Please consider making a voluntary donation if you find these forums helpful. Thank you.
Home of the Kip Doctor!            REGISTER: In order to register for our forums please send an E mail to kiptech@earthlink.net stating what user                                                               name and password you would like. This is now required due to all the spambots that have been registering.
KeepItPrinting.com Forum Index KeepItPrinting.com
The "unofficial' and "unauthorized" KIP info site.


3100 scanner

 
Post new topic   Reply to topic    KeepItPrinting.com Forum Index -> KIP 3000 and 3100
View previous topic :: View next topic  
bigal
doctor


Joined: 17 Apr 2007
Posts: 289
Location: TEXAS

 PostPosted: Fri Feb 26, 2016 6:54 pm    Post subject: 3100 scanner Reply with quote Back to top

I had a customer call that suddenly from one scan to the next that on the left side of a 36 inch scan, go heavy gray background from left edge in about the width of the Cis head and length of the drawing. Prints fine only occurs in scans.
Going to try shading the scanner but it's pretty dark gray ,but you can still see the scanned image.
Bad Cis head???
 
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail Visit poster's website
slyman
doctor


Joined: 23 Apr 2008
Posts: 449
Location: Sherbrooke,Quebec

 PostPosted: Tue Mar 01, 2016 5:11 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote Back to top

As a test, you can interchange it with another one to see if the problem change place.

Only one time, I had to do the shading twice before the scan image quality goes fine.

Let us know !
 
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail Visit poster's website
bigal
doctor


Joined: 17 Apr 2007
Posts: 289
Location: TEXAS

 PostPosted: Thu Mar 24, 2016 2:18 pm    Post subject: Scanner shading Reply with quote Back to top

Ok
Now I have a bigger problem!
Ran shading using kip utility 1.12
First time it seems to improve dark lh Cis problem
But now it shows totally black sheet in scanner utility!
Plugged scanner back in to controller and scans a total black sheet!
Help? ??
 
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail Visit poster's website
slyman
doctor


Joined: 23 Apr 2008
Posts: 449
Location: Sherbrooke,Quebec

 PostPosted: Thu Mar 24, 2016 3:18 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote Back to top

Did you try to update the scanner firmware ? I don't remember if you can simply do a "reset to default" in BUD.
 
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail Visit poster's website
bigal
doctor


Joined: 17 Apr 2007
Posts: 289
Location: TEXAS

 PostPosted: Thu Mar 24, 2016 3:58 pm    Post subject: black scans Reply with quote Back to top

No not yet.
Didn't have the kip scanner charts and used bond paper folded 3 times.
Service manual shows sheet with black bar on trail edge.
Wonder if the bond paper was not reflective enough?
 
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail Visit poster's website
slyman
doctor


Joined: 23 Apr 2008
Posts: 449
Location: Sherbrooke,Quebec

 PostPosted: Thu Mar 24, 2016 4:03 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote Back to top

You need the scanner calibrating sheet with black line. When it does the shading correction, it goes to that black line to take references.

You must have it.
 
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail Visit poster's website
bigal
doctor


Joined: 17 Apr 2007
Posts: 289
Location: TEXAS

 PostPosted: Thu Mar 24, 2016 4:07 pm    Post subject: black scan Reply with quote Back to top

Ok good
I'll try to find one!
I think by not have correct white reflection and black line
The scanner couldn't determine the correct gray.
The 3000 I guess had a different shading sheet?
 
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail Visit poster's website
slyman
doctor


Joined: 23 Apr 2008
Posts: 449
Location: Sherbrooke,Quebec

 PostPosted: Thu Mar 24, 2016 4:12 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote Back to top

If I remember, the 3100 shading sheet got a small bar code on it. I know you can use it on the 3000 series but I don't know if you can use the inverse situation (3000 sheet on 3100 machine).
 
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail Visit poster's website
bigal
doctor


Joined: 17 Apr 2007
Posts: 289
Location: TEXAS

 PostPosted: Tue Mar 29, 2016 9:50 am    Post subject: 3100 Scanner Reply with quote Back to top

OK
Finally got a shading sheet with black bar. Ran calibration and all is well!
Corrected the total black and the dark area around the left side cis head!
 
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail Visit poster's website
Display posts from previous:   
Post new topic   Reply to topic    KeepItPrinting.com Forum Index -> KIP 3000 and 3100 All times are GMT - 3.5 Hours
Page 1 of 1

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum