Welcome to the KeepItPrinting.com forums! The doctor is IN.

          
                                                                                                      

Your business can be seen here! Prime spots available!
             

Please consider making a voluntary donation if you find these forums helpful. Thank you.
Home of the Kip Doctor!            REGISTER: In order to register for our forums please send an E mail to kiptech@earthlink.net stating what user                                                               name and password you would like. This is now required due to all the spambots that have been registering.
KeepItPrinting.com Forum Index KeepItPrinting.com
The "unofficial' and "unauthorized" KIP info site.


KIP 3100 BAD FILE error when printing pdf

 
Post new topic   Reply to topic    KeepItPrinting.com Forum Index -> KIP 3000 and 3100
View previous topic :: View next topic  
JIM V
dreaming of medical school


Joined: 15 Aug 2008
Posts: 2

 PostPosted: Tue Apr 13, 2010 5:16 pm    Post subject: KIP 3100 BAD FILE error when printing pdf Reply with quote Back to top

The above machine gives a printout as follows when printing pdf's:
Bad File!
(Date stamp information) Kip Code:WINOPOVI Media Type: BOND
Invalid Vector File: 5192M001-Layout1.pdf
We are not able to preview the pdf in KIP Request but we can via Acroba Reader or Proffesional. Is this a file problem or a software/machine issue? Thanks, Jim
 
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail
phan6622
doctor


Joined: 09 Feb 2007
Posts: 725
Location: Midwest

 PostPosted: Wed Apr 14, 2010 11:41 am    Post subject: Reply with quote Back to top

what if you try printing it via acrobat / kip windows driver?
 
View user's profile Send private message
TimmH
dreaming of medical school


Joined: 03 Mar 2010
Posts: 2

 PostPosted: Fri May 21, 2010 3:24 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote Back to top

I have this same problem.

It seems to me it's older .pdf versions.

Anything 1.6 or older comes up with this error when printing Via PrintNet or Print Request.
 
View user's profile Send private message
RMS
intern


Joined: 05 Sep 2006
Posts: 111

 PostPosted: Fri May 21, 2010 4:52 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote Back to top

Is this happening on a Windows 7 or Vista work station? If so, try right mouse clicking on Request & running as admin. For some reason the newer OS will require security rights. That should fix your PDF problems also. If that does fix your problem have your IT guy go into the security file on the Request side to give you full rights.
 
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail
Knoxtech
dreaming of medical school


Joined: 22 Jan 2008
Posts: 8
Location: Texas

 PostPosted: Tue Feb 22, 2011 1:28 pm    Post subject: pdf issue on 3100 Reply with quote Back to top

I have the opposite problem as stated above. A new customer of mine can preview in Request and can print the pdf from request. But cannot do either from Acrobat Pro. He has Windows 7 on workstation, KIP running 6.5.492. I'm guessing KIP needs update to Powerprint 7 ?
 
View user's profile Send private message
slyman
doctor


Joined: 23 Apr 2008
Posts: 393
Location: Sherbrooke,Quebec

 PostPosted: Wed Feb 23, 2011 11:38 am    Post subject: Reply with quote Back to top

Not really Knoxtech, If it's print from Request, than it's not an IPS software problem.

But, I suggest you to update the Windows driver to 5.13 and use TCP/IP standard port to print on it.

To have all chance on your side, make sure you update KipServe in your IPS if you want to stay at 6.5.485.

Again, for better chance, yes update to 7.2.280, this one is very stable. (you don't have to install Kipserve patch at this point)
 
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail Visit poster's website
gath99
intern


Joined: 24 Jul 2007
Posts: 111

 PostPosted: Wed Feb 23, 2011 5:21 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote Back to top

We usually only have problems with PDF's that were created with a different PDF maker than normal.
 
View user's profile Send private message
slyman
doctor


Joined: 23 Apr 2008
Posts: 393
Location: Sherbrooke,Quebec

 PostPosted: Wed Feb 23, 2011 7:07 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote Back to top

I forgot to answer you Jim, Like gath99 says, I also have more problem when the pdf file is create with some free pdf creator.

You can try to update your PScript file in your IPS AND the workstation. sometimes it work.
 
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail Visit poster's website
Nathan_Snapper
resident


Joined: 08 Oct 2008
Posts: 179

 PostPosted: Fri Feb 25, 2011 1:58 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote Back to top

What is the free PDF converter used? I have had this problem just from adobe that get files from other companies that either print to a PDF or convert DWG to a pdf. then it either sits in the queue and doesn't print.
Also has anyone had a file that would be converted in AutoCAD and then it wouldn't print? Just need to know. I haven't had this problem yet but i will soon enough with software updates.
 
View user's profile Send private message Yahoo Messenger MSN Messenger
Display posts from previous:   
Post new topic   Reply to topic    KeepItPrinting.com Forum Index -> KIP 3000 and 3100 All times are GMT - 3.5 Hours
Page 1 of 1

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum